Yellow poplar Tree Information

Images of Yellow poplar:

Yellow poplar grows in the following 27 states and provinces:

Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Ontario, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia

Information about Yellow poplar:

More information about Yellow poplar may be found here.

The Liriodendron Tulipifera is commonly known as the Blue-poplar, Tulip-poplar, Tuliptree, Yellow Wood as well as Yellow-poplar.

The currently accepted scientific name of yellow-poplar is Liriodendron tulipifera L. (Magnoliaceae) . Recognized varieties and forms are as follows : L. t. var. fastigiatum (L.) Jaeq. L. t. var. obtusilobum (L.) Michx. L. t. forma aureomarginatum Schwerin L. t. forma integrifolium Kirchr.

Yellow-poplar inhabits eastern North America.  The species ranges from Vermont, west through southern Ontario and Michigan, south to Louisiana, and east to northern Florida .

Some of the information provided here is attributed to:Griffith, Randy Scott. 1991. Liriodendron tulipifera. In: Fire Effects Information System, [Online]. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station, Fire Sciences Laboratory (Producer). , available at the USDA Fire Effects Information System (FEIS) website