Red Elm Tree Information

Images of Red Elm:

Red Elm grows in the following 38 states and provinces:

Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Ontario, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin

Information about Red Elm:

More information about Red Elm may be found here.

The Ulmus Rubra is commonly known as the Gray Elm, Red Elm, Slippery Elm as well as Soft Elm.

The currently accepted scientific name for slippery elm is Ulmus rubra Muhl. . There are no recognized subspecies, varieties, or forms. Slippery elm is commonly crossed with Siberian elm (U. pumilia). Hybrids of rock elm (U. thomasii) and slippery elm have been observed in Sawyer County, Wisconsin, and along streets in Columbia, Missouri .

Slippery elm's range extends from southwestern Maine west to extreme southern Quebec, southern Ontario, New York, northern Michigan, central Minnesota, eastern North Dakota; south through eastern South Dakota, central Nebraska, southwestern Oklahoma, and central Texas; then east to northwestern Florida and Georgia. Slippery elm is uncommon in the part of its range south of Kentucky; it is most abundant in the southern part of the Lake States and in the cornbelt of the Midwest .

Some of the information provided here is attributed to:Coladonato, Milo. 1993. Ulmus rubra. In: Fire Effects Information System, [Online]. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station, Fire Sciences Laboratory (Producer). , available at the USDA Fire Effects Information System (FEIS) website