Peach Willow Tree Information

Images of Peach Willow:

Peach Willow grows in the following 34 states and provinces:

Alberta, Arizona, British Columbia, Colorado, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Manitoba, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Ontario, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Saskatchewan, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Information about Peach Willow:

More information about Peach Willow may be found here.

The Salix Amygdaloides is commonly known as the Almond Willow, Almondleaf Willow, Peach Willow, Peach-leaved Willow, Peachleaf Willow, Southwestern Peach Willow as well as Wright Willow.

The currently accepted scientific name of peachleaf willow is Salix amygdaloides Anderss. . No subspecies, varieties, or forms are recognized.

Peachleaf willow is distributed from Quebec and New York west across southern Canada to British Columbia and south to Washington, Oregon, Utah, Arizona, Texas, Kentucky, and Vermont .

Peachleaf willow is normally found in early seral riparian communities. It typically occurs scattered along the edge sof streams, rivers, ponds, or lakes. Published classification schemes listing peachleaf willow as an indicator or dominant in community types (cts), or dominance types (dts) are presented below: Area Classification Authority e CO: South Platte & Arkansas Rivers riparian cts Lindauer 1983 MT, WY: Bighorn Canyon Natl. Recr. Area general veg. cts Knight & others 1987 MT riparian dts Hansen & others 1988 sw US wetland cts Brown 1979

Some of the information provided here is attributed to:Uchytil, Ronald J. 1989. Salix amygdaloides. In: Fire Effects Information System, [Online]. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station, Fire Sciences Laboratory (Producer). , available at the USDA Fire Effects Information System (FEIS) website