Eastern Persimmon Tree Information

Images of Eastern Persimmon:

Eastern Persimmon grows in the following 23 states and provinces:

Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia

Information about Eastern Persimmon:

More information about Eastern Persimmon may be found here.

The Diospyros Virginiana is commonly known as the Common Persimmon, Eastern Persimmon, Florida Persimmon, Persimmon, Possumwood as well as Simmon.

The scientific name for common persimmon is Diospyros virginiana L. . Varieties include : D. virginiana L. var. virginiana - typical common persimmon D. virginiana var. pubescens (Pursch) Dipp. - fuzzy common persimmon D. virginiana var. platycarpa Sarg. - Oklahoma common persimmon D. virginiana var. mosieri (Small) Sarg. - Florida persimmon

Common persimmon is distributed from southern Connecticut and Long Island, New York to southern Florida. Inland it occurs in central Pennsylvania, southern Ohio, southern Indiana, and central Illinois to southeastern Iowa; and southeastern Kansas and Oklahoma to the Valley of the Colorado River in Texas. It does not grow in the main range of the Appalachian Mountains, nor in much of the oak-hickory forest type of the Allegheny Plateau .

Common persimmon is found in many plant associations, but it is not an indicator of any particular habitat .

Some of the information provided here is attributed to:Coladonato, Milo 1992. Diospyros virginiana. In: Fire Effects Information System, [Online]. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station, Fire Sciences Laboratory (Producer). , available at the USDA Fire Effects Information System (FEIS) website