Buckeye Tree Information

Images of Buckeye:

Buckeye grows in the following 1 states and provinces:


Information about Buckeye:

More information about Buckeye may be found here.

The Aesculus Californica is commonly known as the Buckeye, California Buckeye as well as Horsechestnut.

The currently accepted scientific name of California buckeye is Aesculus californica (Spach) Nutt. . There are no recognized subspecies, varieties, or forms.

California buckeye is emdemic to California. It occurs in the the Klamath and Coast Ranges from Siskiyou County County south to Los Angeles County. In the Cascade Range and the foothills of the Sierra Nevada, it occurs from from Shasta County south to Kern County. California buckeye is occasionally found in the Central Valley in Yolo, Colusa, and Stanislaus Counties .

California buckeye woodland is recognized as a distinct plant community . The species may also codominate oak (Quercus spp.) woodland. Interior live oak (Q. wislizenii) and blue oak (Q. douglasii) are the most common codominants of oak woodland . In chaparral, it is sometimes a dominant shrub or tree . The following published classification schemes list California buckeye as a climax species or a dominant part of the vegetation in community types (cts) or plant associations (pas): Area Classification Authority CA: Coast Ranges mixed oak cts Allen & others 1991 w foothills Sierra Nevada foothill woodland pas Thorne 1976 Klamath Mts. northern mixed Holland 1986 chaparral pas Pinnacles National Monument Ca buckeye woodland cts Halverson & Clark 1986

Some of the information provided here is attributed to:Howard, Janet L. 1992. Aesculus californica. In: Fire Effects Information System, [Online]. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station, Fire Sciences Laboratory (Producer). , available at the USDA Fire Effects Information System (FEIS) website