Biltmore Ash Tree Information

Images of Biltmore Ash:

Biltmore Ash grows in the following 36 states and provinces:

Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, Nova Scotia, Ohio, Oklahoma, Ontario, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin

Information about Biltmore Ash:

More information about Biltmore Ash may be found here.

The Fraxinus Americana is commonly known as the Biltmore Ash, Biltmore White Ash, Cane Ash, Small-seed White Ash as well as White Ash.

The currently accepted scientific name of white ash is Fraxinus americana L. . White ash is in the Oleaceae (olive) family . Currently recognized varieties of white ash are : F. americana var. americana F. americana var. biltmoreana (Beadle) J. Wright

White ash inhabits eastern North America.  It occurs from Nova Scotia west to eastern Minnesota and south to Texas and northern Florida . It is cultivated in Hawaii .

Coffman and others list white ash as a dominant and an indicator in the habitat type classification of upper Michigan and northwestern Wisconsin.

Some of the information provided here is attributed to:Griffith, Randy Scott. 1991. Fraxinus americana. In: Fire Effects Information System, [Online]. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station, Fire Sciences Laboratory (Producer). , available at the USDA Fire Effects Information System (FEIS) website